Pictures from the Gothenburg book fair!

I was very lucky to get a slot at the authors’ unions stage at the Gothenburg book fair. I took the opportunity to read a few poems from the new book lifedeathetc and talk about the international haiku community and what the possibilities are for me as a writer.

I talked about haiku as a poetry form, but also about the international haiku community, the journals, the contests, the japanese haiku scene and what this can mean in terms of reaching a new readership. The presentation was finished off by me and Marcus Liljedahl reading our Nijuin “Northern Lights”, for which we got an honorable mention in the HSA Bernard Lionel Einbond Renku contest earlier this year.

When I worked as a freelance journalist for Swedish magazines many years ago, I collaborated with an excellent photographer Maria Qvarzell. I was very lucky to have her come to the poetry reading in Gothenburg and here are the pictures that she took!

gbitoen“Big in Japan – my haiku on ITO EN green tea bottles”

gbrmp“American anthologies of English Language Haiku – an opportunity to be read internationally”

ma2“Northern Lights – Marcus Liljedahl and I read a a nijuin which was awarded an honourable mention in the Haiku Society of America renku contest”

Leave a Reply

